findmehere

Friday, August, 1, 2008

It’s August First

Filed under: books, films — mete23 @ 8:58 pm

And the first thing I did was ride the Cyclone! Tada.

It was a lot steeper than I expected and my butt left the seat for all of the drops.

I finished reading Lolita. I would recommend it but I didn’t love it. Unlike most of the people who told me to read it, I did not sympathize with Humbert Humbert. I mean Vladimir Nabokov foiled H.H. with a very sinister character so things could have been worse for Lolita, but still I felt uncomfortable with the whole notion of pedophilia and H.H. destroying Lolita’s childhood, innocence, and life. It is supposedly a love story but a twisting arm love story. I picked up Crime and Punishment as my next novel. The thickness and font are intimidating. My English teacher made a lot of references to that book last year and that’s why I want to read it.

There was a Lolita movie in 1997.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

