findmehere

Saturday, February, 7, 2009

Daniel Handler and Mary Roach are Wes Alumni

Filed under: books, school — mete23 @ 10:50 am

This morning I found out two interesting things about Wesleyan.

First, Daniel Handler, also known as Lemony Snicket, graduated from Wesleyan in 1992!

Second, Mary Roach, the author of Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife, and Bonk: the Curious Coupling of Science and Sex, graduated in 1981! She is…well, I’ll just say that it took her a long time to get her stuff published. She freelanced other things but it was only recently that these books became best sellers. Why this fact is so interesting is because I recently purchased Stiff and Spook without knowing that Mary Roach was a product of Wes. I wanted to buy Bonk too but it was too expensive, even for a used book. Apparently these non fiction books were heralded as wildly entertaining and funny. I can’t wait to read them.

spook

I will never buy new books ever again unless it is in a collector’s box/edition/special. Used books on Amazon are just like new and ten times cheaper, even with shipping. My three textbooks cost me less than $40. If I bought it at the bookstore, it would have cost me $250 plus.

You can find all the famous Wesleyan alumni here.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

