findmehere

Friday, March, 19, 2010

This is what I want to do this summer

Filed under: books, christianity, my stuff, politics, travel — mete23 @ 11:16 am

Or volunteer in New York, take bartending classes at Columbia, start a garden, read some books (list), watch some movies (list), go to New Orleans for the mission trip I missed, or cater/wait tables.

I need to finish C.S. Lewis’ Miracles! I can’t make myself read though, it’s too nice outside and I tried reading outside yesterday but totally failed. I also tried to read while walking which amounted to two pages per two hours. A walk would be very nice today. I might do that later.

My mind wanders a lot. Especially to places I want to travel to. I realize that I say “I want” a lot. I don’t like that but I do it anyway.

I watched a video on ABC News about the Texas textbook controversy. It is frightening how much power the Texas school board has over textbook sales; actually, how much power Don McLeroy has.

Read Donald Miller’s blog this morning and I really enjoyed his post about “Every Day Actions Into Spiritual Rituals.” I found the every day actions he wrote about personally comforting as weird as that sounds but I agree that rituals do serve as a sense of security and a connection with God. I might reflect more on my own spiritual rituals today, that is an idea. I also like his idea of using a new and differently translated Bible after reading one through so that the underlines will be different for each Bible.

I also followed the back and forth between Glenn Beck and Jim Wallis. I liked how Donald Miller described Jim Wallis as a very gentle person and correctly exemplified what “turning the other cheek” looks like.

This was a loaded Christian/Christianity post that had mostly nothing to do with what I want to do this summer. But yeah I want to go to British Columbia this summer to visit my cousin and be completely humbled by the awfully beautiful mountains. Any one want to go with me? I don’t want to be a solo traveler.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

