findmehere

Tuesday, August, 10, 2010

Peace Quote from MLK

Filed under: my stuff — mete23 @ 10:42 pm

“Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek but a means by which we arrive at the goal.
Through violence you can murder a murderer but cannot murder murder.
Through violence you can murder a liar but you cannot establish truth.
Through violence you can murder a hater but you cannot murder hate.
Darkness cannot put out darkness; only light can do that.

We will not build a peaceful world by following a negative path. It is not enough to say we should not wage war, it is necessary to love peace and sacrifice for it. We must concentrate not merely on the negative expulsion of war but on the positive affirmation of peace. We must say that peace represents a sweeter music, a cosmic melody that is far superior to the discords of war.”
-Martin Luther King
I know I have been on a blogging hiatus but recently, I have had some thoughts that I wanted to post. I just haven’t had the time to blog. Also, this whole idea of wanting to share with the world what some of my thoughts are bugs me at times. Like, what’s wrong with me? Don’t I have friends that I can share my thoughts with? Do I need the world to read this? Does this reflect insecurities? Is sympathy what I need?
Another thing is that I noticed that my posts have changed to become wordier and more essay-like. I apologize to those who aren’t interested in reading another mouthful blog.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

